AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get home appliances delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Sael.net has published an interactive 3D guide that follows IKEA manuals for the BILLY bookcase and LACK side table. It reproduces parts, hardware counts and assembly order, but some measurements are estimated from drawings, and the project says it is not made or endorsed by IKEA.

Sael.net has published an interactive 3D guide that walks users through assembling IKEA’s BILLY bookcase and LACK side table, following the products’ manuals step by step. The project recreates the listed parts, hardware counts and assembly order, but says some physical dimensions are approximate and explicitly states it is not made or endorsed by IKEA.

The BILLY walkthrough is based on the 80 × 28 × 202 cm bookcase and IKEA assembly manual AA-1823127-9. Sael.net says the guide follows the manual’s sequence and presents the parts from angles similar to those in its diagrams. It identifies the main panels, fixed and loose shelves, plinth and folded back panel, along with 82 hardware pieces: dowels, cam screws and locks, nails, shelf pins, and wall brackets with screws and washers.

The guide includes a step timeline, playback controls and a view of the original manual beside the 3D build. Users can select drawings to jump to corresponding assembly steps, inspect the build in a black-line style, and click parts to hear their names and numbers. A hardware counter follows the components as they are added. Sael.net also explains the bookcase’s cam-lock connection: cam screws enter one panel, then rotating the cams in the adjoining panel pulls the boards together. The dowels align parts; the cams clamp them.

A second mode covers the 55 × 55 × 45 cm LACK side table, using IKEA manual AA-2606170-1. The guide depicts four double-ended screws, identified as hardware 115980, and four legs. Sael.net adds a third step showing the table turned over, although the source says IKEA’s manual ends after the legs are attached. The guide offers controls for moving through steps, changing views, orbiting and zooming.

At a glance
reportWhen: Published; source material does not spe…
The developmentSael.net published an interactive 3D assembly guide based on IKEA manuals for the BILLY bookcase and LACK side table.

A More Visual Route Through Assembly

The project gives people another way to follow familiar flat-pack instructions, especially when interpreting a two-dimensional drawing or identifying a specific component is difficult. Its step-by-step model makes the order of assembly and hardware placement visible, while the synchronized manual lets users compare the animation with IKEA’s source diagrams.

That can help users understand how the pieces fit, but the animation is not a substitute for the manual or safe lifting practices. Sael.net says the 3D build moves much faster than real assembly and notes that the manual calls for two people when lifting or turning the whole bookcase. For BILLY, the guide also emphasizes securing the unit to a wall: a tip-over can cause fatal injury, according to the warning described in the source.

Amazon

IKEA BILLY bookcase assembly tools

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Manuals Behind the Two Models

The guide draws on two separate IKEA instruction documents: AA-1823127-9 for BILLY and AA-2606170-1 for LACK. Sael.net says the BILLY manual is reproduced unaltered and identifies its copyright as belonging to Inter IKEA Systems B.V. in 2024. It directs readers to IKEA’s website for the original manual.

There is a clear distinction between information copied from the manuals and geometry inferred for the 3D models. The guide says parts, counts, assembly order and hardware numbers come from the manuals. BILLY’s overall dimensions are given as published product dimensions, while panel thickness, hole positions and shelf heights are estimated from the drawings rather than measured directly.

“The parts, counts, order and hardware numbers are the manual’s.”

— Sael.net, describing the BILLY model

Amazon

interactive furniture assembly guide

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Limits of the 3D Measurements

The source does not provide independently measured dimensions for the BILLY panels, holes or shelf positions; Sael.net says these details were estimated from manual drawings. It also does not state how the model was tested against a physical bookcase or whether the guide has been reviewed by IKEA. The project’s publication date is not specified in the supplied material.

The guide does not replace product-specific safety instructions. Wall screws and plugs are not included with the BILLY hardware described because the appropriate fixings depend on the wall. Users must consult the original instructions and select suitable fixings for their wall type; the source does not identify particular products or installation methods.

Amazon

DIY IKEA furniture hardware set

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Use the Original Instructions

Sael.net’s page provides the interactive guide and links readers to IKEA’s original manual. The source material does not announce planned updates, additional products or an IKEA response. Users can switch between BILLY and LACK, replay the steps and open the manuals alongside the models, but should follow the product instructions for the actual assembly.

For the BILLY bookcase, that includes having two people handle steps involving lifting or turning the case and fixing the bookcase to the wall with appropriate screws and plugs. The 3D sequence is a visual aid, not a timing guide or a replacement for the warnings and requirements in the manual.

Amazon

3D furniture assembly instructions

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Key Questions

What does the IKEA 3D guide cover?

Sael.net’s guide covers assembly of the BILLY bookcase and LACK side table, following the steps in their IKEA manuals.

Is the 3D guide an official IKEA product?

No. Sael.net says the project is not made or endorsed by IKEA. It identifies IKEA and BILLY as trademarks of Inter IKEA Systems B.V.

Are all measurements in the BILLY model exact?

No. The source says the listed parts, counts, order and hardware numbers come from the manual, but panel thickness, hole locations and shelf heights are estimated from drawings, not measured.

Does the guide replace IKEA’s assembly manual?

No. It is a visual aid based on the manuals. Sael.net points users to IKEA’s originals, which contain the product instructions and safety warnings to follow during assembly.

Does the BILLY bookcase need to be fixed to a wall?

The guide describes the manual’s warning about tip-over risk and the wall brackets used in the assembly. Wall screws and plugs are not included because the right fixings depend on the wall; consult the manual and use suitable fixings.

Source: hn

EVERGREEN BESTSE

Evergreen bestsellers Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

Dyson Filters: Compatibility & Buying Guide for Optimal Performance

Discover the best Dyson filters and accessories. Our guide covers compatibility, key features, and expert tips to keep your Dyson vacuum performing at its best.

Deciding on Smart Thermostats for Multi-Family Buildings

Smart thermostats can boost efficiency and tenant comfort in multi-family buildings—discover how to make the best choice for your needs.

The Garage Heater Wattage Question Buyers Should Ask Earlier

The garage heater wattage question buyers should ask early can save energy and ensure safety—discover how to determine the perfect size for your space.

Best Dyson Cordless Vacuums for Cars: Top Picks & Buying Tips

Discover the top Dyson vacuums and cleaners for 2026. Find the best overall, value, premium, and beginner options to suit every cleaning need.